Leanne Reid
  • Leanne Reid

  • Solicitor

Legal Qualifications:

2:1 LLB Law (Exempting) Northumbria University

Year of Admission:

2015

Career History:

Following my graduation from University in 2010, I worked for 3 months within the Family Department of TBI as a Secretary. 

I was then fortunate to obtain a position as a paralegal at Freeman Johnson Solicitors based in Northallerton. I successfully obtained a Training Contract at Freeman Johnson in 2013 and remained there until my qualification in 2015.

I the commenced employment with Smith and Graham Solicitors based in Hartlepool and Peterlee before joining TBI in May 2018.

Experience and Expertise:

I represent parties in both public and private law children matters. This includes parents, family members and the children themselves. 

I am a member of the Law Society Children Panel and I am therefore able to represent children in both private and public law children matters.

Career Highlights:

As a trainee solicitor, I was involved in the case of Re A (A Child) [2015] EWFC 11 – a local case from Darlington which was heard by the President of the Family Division.

Corporate social responsibility/Pro bono/Community relations:

I am a school governor at my local primary school which is also the primary school I attended as a child.

Professional Memberships/Directorship:

I am a member of the Law Society Children panel. I am therefore accredited to represent children in both public and private law cases.

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?:

I initially wanted to be an accountant until a teacher in Y6 at school commented that I liked to talk a lot and maybe I could put that skill to good use and become a Solicitor.

Why law as a career?:

I wanted to be able to use my skill set to assist people. When you start a career in law you make a decision in relation to the type of law and the area of law you hope to practice in. 

I always wanted to practice in an area which allowed me to assist people from the local area who may need my help and guidance with legal issues.

What one thing could you not live without?:

My family.

Hobbies and interests:

I am a season ticket holder at Hartlepool United and have been for around 20+ years. As side from attending home games, my partner and I will also attend some away games each season.

I have a rescue dog, Jaffa who is a Jack Russell x Whippet. I enjoy going for walks with Jaffa and spending time on the beach with him.